HaysCARD - ????
"Protecting these resources protects our local economy."  
from CARD Mission Statement  
Welcome     About     Water     Development     Transportation     Communications     Get Involved    Archives    Links
Congratulations to
Wimberley's New Mayor and Council Members

On May 10, Wimberley elected Place 4 City Council Member Steve Thurber as the new mayor, to replace outgoing mayor Bob Flocke.

Cindy Anderson was elected to Place 2 City Council, replacing outgoing City Council Member Mac McCullough. Her opponents were Mary Kathryn Brown and Ed Foster. Pam Showalter, who was unopposed, won election to Place 4 City Council, replacing outgoing City Council Member Steve Thurber.

In a vigorously contested race against City Council Member McCullough and Place 1 City Council Member Tom Talcott, Thurber - with 411 votes - missed a majority by four votes. Wimberley's mayor is elected by a plurality; a majority is not required. Both City Council winners had a majority. A complete list of the new City Council is below.

Citizens Alliance for Responsible Development thanks winners Thurber, Anderson and Showalter, and their opponents McCullough, Talcott, Brown and Foster, for their willingness to put forth the time, finances and personal exposure that goes with running for office, even - and sometimes especially - in a small town. It's what makes our system work.

CARD also thanks and congratulates the voters of Wimberley; 40.2% of eligible voters did vote. That was higher percentage than any other Hays County city.

CARD was pleased and encouraged to see that issues involving water and development were usually the focus of comments all candidates made in debates and discussions, as well as in response to CARD's Candidate Survey. Water and development are huge factors in Wimberley's immediate and long-range future, and this election's winners will be making important and difficult decisions. We look forward to their positive efforts on behalf of our beloved home town, efforts which will impact the entire Wimberley Valley.

Here is the new line-up for Wimberley City Council:

Mayor - Steve Thurber
City Council:
Place 1: Tom Talcott
Place 2: Cindy Anderson
Place 3: Matt Meeks
Place 4: Pam Showalter
Place 5: John White

CARD Steering Committee

CARDtalk: Wimberley Candidates Respond - Download (4/21/14)

© Copyright 2008-14 Citizens Alliance for Responsible Development
PO Box 2905, Wimberley, TX 78676   Email: info@hayscard.org
Free search script provided by JavaScript Kit